The beauty of 10 pounds



If you know me, you know that I am a bit obsessed about food and nutrition. I count calories, but I don’t always pay attention to the total. Nothing stops me from indulging in senseless food pleasures (especially if have the justification of a run earlier that day.) My will is very strong, my willpower is not. I am a little overweight, actually a little more overweight than I normally am. This winter has gotten the best of me.
I have always been a big girl. And so, I come by my food obsessions honestly.
In light of that, I read an article today that takes a little pressure off those of us who obsess, fight and lose the battle of the bulge. I almost find it irresponsible to make a note of this article, but I find the science intriguing.
According to the article,
” there’s little risk to carrying a few extra pounds. And there may even be some benefit. Indeed, people who are 10-to-15 pounds overweight appear to have no greater risk of dying than those of so-called “normal” weight. Other studies have shown that those who are overweight are no more likely to die from cancer or cardiovascular disease. Also, being a little overweight may help stave off osteoporosis. And it can make you look younger, too.”
Link to ARTICLE in the Wall Street Journal April, 29, 2010.
About Ginger Hansen Photography

wife mom graphic designer photographer french professor
This entry was posted in diet, fat, obsession, weight. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

